10th July 2011

 

2230 GMT

 

22 SAS Credenhill,Great Britain

 

Captain John Price

22nd Regiment,SAS

 

It’s been several months since the end of Second Russian Civil War.Despite our best effort to contain them,Ultranationalists managed to gain a foothole once again over Russia.They even murdered President Markhov,under orders from one of the most wanted man in Britain,Vladimir Makarov.That murder further rub the salt to our wounds.If only our government do whatever means necessary to help them against this violent wave,the Loyalists may survived the coup and turn things around,possibly winning the war..But,politicians are politicians…The only thing they care is saving their own skin…Ideally,I would love to see our continual presence on Russian soil..But,I guess they have to make that hard decision..leaving behind our allies to ensure everything went smoothly…

 

It’s been a difficult period for all of us.Losing our countrymen,our friends,brothers at arms,it’s very painful.Gaz,Barton,Eames and Harkov…Their deaths left behind a huge scar in our heart…Their deaths for some are worthless…But for us,their deaths should be avenged…Their sacrifice for the cause is enormous…But,I’m now more concerned with the way my men handled their deaths..While most decided to leave it behind and move on,others like Soap is reluctant to do so…

 

I heard rumors circling around the base that he still taking oxycodone despite fully recovered from his injury.It seems like he using drugs to drown his depression and disappointment instead of confronting it.Of course,if anyone asked me about it,I will shot down that kind of rumor.In my opinion,that allegation is baseless.There is no way he will involved.But,after listening to reports from the likes of Wallcroft,Rowland,Abbas and Raj,I know,I need to get the facts right before making any decision about it…

 

22nd July 2011

 

0930 GMT

 

That morning,everything looks normal…Everyone is working very hard,perfecting their skills,improving their fitness..It looks like business as usual to everyone…Then,I see him walking away from the obstacle courses without any reason at all.He maybe a Leftenant right now but he should not use his ranks as an excuse…’Rowland,can you monitor them for awhile?There something I need to do.’I asked Leftenant Rowland to continue monitoring the CQB test.’No problem,sir.’He nodded.As he continue monitoring the test,I excused myself and started to follow Soap…

 

Slowly,I followed him back to our barracks.Much to my surprise,those rumors are absolutely true after all.Then,out of nowhere,Abbas entered the barracks.Stunned by his appearance,Soap tried to leave but he stands firm,denying his quick exit.He angrily asked,’What you’re doing here?I thought you’re still in obstacle course.Are you taking that?’Abbas tried to reach it but Soap immediately punched him to the ground,leading to a scuffle between them.But eventually,Abbas gain the upper hand and pushed him back to the wall.’Listen,stop doing this to yourself.If you really want to die,this is not the way.’However,Soap grabbed his gun and pointed to his head,’Kill me,Mustapha. I dare you to do it!’Knowing this will spin out of control,I step in and seize it from his hand.He angrily screamed,’Why you doing this?It’s my fault they died.I should be dead just like them.’Enraged by his remarks,I slapped him.Both of them are stunned.As I tell Abbas to move away,I pushed Soap back to the wall,’If you really want to die.Then take a shot.Stop blaming yourself for their demise.It’s already happened.You cannot live in the past,son.Move on and stop blaming yourself.It’s worthless.Besides,what you’re doing right now is an insult to them.’Eventually,he calm himself down and I tell Abbas to keep this matter a secret…

 

29th July 2011

 

1415 GMT

 

A week after that incident,after careful deliberation and consultation with other SAS officers like the old man,now a Colonel,MacMillan,I decided to keep him in the fold with several condition.He asked me,’What exactly those conditions,sir?’I replied,’Well,for a start,you have to keep yourself clean from drugs.Then,I adviced you to seek help to deal with your depression.’He amused after hearing that condition,’That’s it?’I smiled,’That’s it..Get yourself clean and some help.If you need anything,you know where to find..’

 

As we bid farewell,others too have their own plans..’I’m afraid it’s time to say goodbye as well,sir.’Abbas said to me.I’m quite stunned with his announcement,’What do you mean,Mustapha?’He replied,’Well,MI-6 have assigned me to Moscow as our eyes and ears.Probably to keep everything in check.’I feel sad to separate with these men..But sometimes,duty must come first..We bid our farewell and he leaves with his head remains high…